How to Get Your Ambulence Driver Certificate
Licenses, Endorsements, Certificates
How to Get Your Ambulance Driver Certificate
An ambulance driver certificate is the certificate required in order to drive an ambulance commercially in emergency service. You may apply for an ambulance driver certificate at any DMV office.
If you are 18 years of age or older and have a current California driver’s license (not on DMV probation), you may obtain an ambulance driver certificate by
- passing the Ambulance Driver written examination;
- submitting a completed request form for the Live Scan fingerprint service;
- submitting a completed Medical Examination Report (DL 51);
- providing your EMT-1 Certificate (unless exempt); and
- paying a $25 fee ($67 with fingerprints; $12 for renewals).
Note that DMV may refuse to issue an ambulance driver certificate to anyone who
- has been convicted of a felony, drug charge or misdemeanor involving the use of force;
- has committed an act of moral turpitude;
- has a history of habitual and excessive use of alcohol;
- is on DMV probation;
- within the past three years has had their license suspended or revoked for the unsafe operation of a vehicle;
- within the past three years has been convicted of DUI, reckless driving or failure to stop and render aid in an accident involving death or injury;
- does not meet the minimum medical standards set by DMV;
- has demonstrated irrational behavior or a physical disability that would prevent performing the job;
- within the last year has violated any statute relating to the operation of emergency ambulances; or
- has committed any act that warrants dismissal from an ambulance driver job.
If DMV has denied you an ambulance certificate for any of these reasons, you may be entitled to a hearing to challenge that denial. Call us today, and we can help you beat DMV.
Section 2512 authorizes the Commissioner of the Department of the California Highway Patrol to consult with DMV and the Emergency Medical Service Authority to “adopt and enforce” regulations necessary for the safe operation of emergency services ambulances–including the certification of drivers. Those regulations appear in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations from Section 1100 to Section 1109.
Qualifications for Issuance
Section 12527 requires anyone operating an ambulance in an emergency call to (1) be 18 years of age; (2) have a valid license for the class of vehicle being driven; (3) possess a valid ambulance driver certificate; and (4) be competent in ambulance operation and the use of emergency equipment as specified in the regulations above.
Applicants must also pass a fingerprint/background check (Section 12527(c)(2) and a medical examination within the two years prior to applying for the certificate (Section 12527(c)(3)).
Within the year of the issuance of certification, the ambulance driver must undergo and complete emergency medical training as approved by the Emergency Medical Service Authority. (Section 12527(d).)
Grounds for Refusal
Section 13372 contains a laundry list of events that either require or allow DMV to deny an application for an ambulance driver certificate (or to revoke one already granted).
DMV must deny the application for or revoke the current ambulance driver certificate of any motorist who:
- Is required to register as a sex offender for any offense involving force, violence, threat or intimidation (Section 13372(a)(1);
- Habitually or excessively uses or is addicted to narcotics or dangerous drugs (Section 13372(a)(2); or
- Is on parole or probation for any felony, theft or any crime involving force, violence, threat or intimidation (Section 13372(a)(3);
DMV may deny the application for or revoke the current ambulance driver certificate of any motorist who:
- Within the last 7 years has been convicted of any crime punishable as a felony or any crime of theft (Section 13372(b)(1);
- Within the last 7 years has committed any act “involving moral turpitude” (Section 13372(b)(2)). Though the California Supreme Court has stated that moral turpitude “is an elusive concept incapable of precise general definition,” it remains a ground for denying many professional licenses, including the ambulance certificate. Unfortunately, DMV considers many actions to constitute moral turpitude where the law does not. If DMV has denied or revoked your certificate for acts supposedly constituting moral turpitude, give us a call and we’ll try to help;
- Habitually and excessively uses alcoholic beverages (Section 13372(b)(3));
- Within the last 7 years has been convicted of a narcotics crime or of any misdemeanor involving force, violence, threat or intimidation (Section 13372(b)(4));
- Is on probation with DMV for the unsafe operation of a vehicle (Section 13372(b)(5));
- Within the last 3 years has had their license suspended or revoked for the unsafe operation of a vehicle, or been convicted of DUI, reckless driving, or failing to stop and render aid in an accident involving death or injury (Section 13372(b)(6));
- Has knowingly made a false statement or failed to disclose a material fact in the application (Section 13372(b)(7));
- Has been the driver in any accident causing death or bodily injury or in three accidents of any kind within one year (Section 13372(b)(8));
- Does not meet the minimum medical standards required by 13 Code Cal. Regs. §§ 28.18 and 28.19 (essentially adopting the federal medical standards for commercial drivers) (Section 13372(b)(9));
- Has demonstrated irrational behavior or incurred a physical disability that would prevent typical job performance (Section 13372(b)(10));
- Has violated any provision of the Vehicle Code regarding the operation of an ambulance (Section 13372(b)(11)); or
- Has been dismissed by an employer for violating any of the ambulance driver regulations (Section 13372(b)(12)).
VC 2512, VC 12527, VC 13372, 13 Cal.Code Regs. §§ 28.18, 28.19, 1100-1109